The GMC Canyon Truck Build

IMG_3201The goal has always been to camp and travel for an extended period of time. This task has been a challenge from the very beginning. The cost has always been a major factor. I have champagne taste and beer money. Who knew that something so simple could be so expensive.

IMG_3204I started out wanting a cargo van, but it had it limits the main one, not being able to get to some of the hard to reach places. I did get a Jeep Cherokee, but it kept having mechanical problems. Then there was the GMC Terrain, it limited the way I wanted to camp. I was forced to camp on the ground, which was fine. But cold weather and rain can make you think twice about sleeping on the ground. But the main reason I decided against an SUV was all my gear and camping equipment could be see through the window. This would cause a problem if I wanted to go into a city and do some looking around.

IMG_3211Finally, I purchased a 2015 GMC Canyon 4×4 (open bed truck). I felt this would be ideal for me to do what I wanted to do, camp and take photos. I could build some storage and sleep in the back of the truck. For the next several months “YouTube” became my best friend. I started looking at videos of other people who had open bed trucks and how they were camping.

IMG_3212Everyone uses there vehicles for a particular reason, one that suits their needs and goals. So I came up with a combination of several designs. I wrote a list of all the things I need to take with me on an extended trip. Means for cooking, washing my body, clothing and most of all my camera equipment. But even more important than all of this, WATER, without it, I couldn’t stay out for long periods. And this is what I came up with.

IMG_3223Keep in mind that I never really built anything like this before. Hand tools and I are not the best of friends, although we are on a first name base. But I love a challenge and this would prove to be one. My main objective for this build was, I didn’t want a permanent structure in the bed of my truck nor did I want to drill any holes in it.

IMG_3227I designed the frame in sections, a front, middle, and back. By connecting the framework together I could build a frame that would support a platform on which I could sleep and work. It allows me to carry all the things I need so far. I will follow up with another blog post so you can see all the things I take and how I used them. I will also do a video showing how everything works and come together.

The build is not perfect yet, I’m still making minor adjustments as I go along. I must say I am pleased with the way it has turned out so far.

So now its time for a maiden voyage to see how well things work out. I’ll keep you posted.

Please subscribe, share, like and comment.

*** THE END ***

Leave a comment