THE LONG ROAD HOME

After leaving the Delaware Water GAP (DWP) My Jeep continued to shut off. I was having this problem in Arizona. I decided enough was enough so I started making preparations to head back to Arizona. I packed up the Jeep and started back. But it was not going to be a smooth trip as I would later find out.

2007 Jeep Grand CherokeeAs usual, I stopped at a truck stop in Tennessee to get some much-needed rest. It had started to drizzle so I decided to get some coffee and wait to see what the weather was going to do. It didn’t seem like it would be too bad so I decided to head out. But my Jeep wasn’t having it. It shut down again on me. This was only about the 5th or 6th time. But I decided it was going to be the last time.

I called the dealership (which I will keep nameless for a while). And explained to them what has just happened and wanted to be towed to a place that also had one of their dealerships close by to a Jeep Dealership. I informed them that I had had enough and would be looking for another vehicle. And if they could contact the dealer to let them know I would be stopping by to start the process to get a different vehicle at no additional cost to me.

They made the necessary arrangements for the tow and informed the dealership that I would be coming in to look at another vehicle. I didn’t have to worry about another credit check it was already preapproved and would cost me nothing down as long as the value was less than or equal to the Jeep. I did not object to this arrangement because I need to get home and any other concerns I would deal with upon my return to Arizona.

2010 GMC TerrainI took a walk around the lot and settled on a 2010 GMC Terrain FWD. It was a nice looking SUV but more importantly, It was able to hold all my camping gear which was still in the Jeep at the Jeep Dealership. The process took about 3 ½ hours from start to finish. I left the dealership to go up the road to the Jeep Dealership so I could remove my camping gear to pack in in my 2010 GMC Terrain. It was kind of disappointing that no one offered me transportation or even a hotel room or help in transporting my gear from one vehicle to another.

I continued my trip back to Arizona without incident and was very impressed with the performance of the vehicle. Even though it was only an FWD (Front Wheel Drive) it performed admirably. So I name him IRON-MAN a name worthy of its ability.

I took a few more camping trips with IRON-MAN (stories to follow). Each one was better than the one before. Finally, I was on my way to doing what seemed almost an impossible fate to accomplish; I was camping and traveling the country without incident.

2015 GMC CanyonI had asked the dealership to apply the payments I made on the Jeep to the Terrain, but my request fell on deaf ears. I decided it was time to terminate my relationship with this dealer and find a dealership that would treat me fairly. So I went to the GMC Dealer and purchased a 2015 GMC Canyon XLT. This was by far the best purchase I have ever made.

*** THE END ***

Leave a comment