WHO KNEW….”THE OVERLANDER”

Jeep-Grand-Cherokee-Overlander-Concept-rear-three-quarterInitially, I was a little disappointed with the 4×4 I purchased instead of the van that I actually wanted. As I stated in my previous blog post, there were advantages and disadvantages of both vehicles. What I didn’t know was that I could do exactly the same things with my 4×4 as I would have done with the van.

Remember I told you that van dwellers were called vanners. Well, come to find out people who own a 4×4 are called “overlanders” and they also have a culture all their own. The average overlander likes to take their 4×4 off the road; go places an average car or van can’t get too. That is mainly because the terrain is too rough and ridged. These 4×4 are built for the job.

sb-2883-_7__2263Overlanders have expos and events like every other outdoor adventurer. This year (2017) the Overland Expo West was in Flagstaff Arizona, at Fort Tuthill County Park. Although I missed the event mainly because I was focused on the van life, I was able to find some YouTube videos of the event and the gear they offer owners of 4×4. I have a few links below for you to check out.

Overland Expo 2017 (58 minutes)

One of the things that really caught my eye was the rooftop tent. They come in many sizes, shapes, and colors with additional add-ons. You should really check out this video, there is something for everyone. Even if you just want to go out for the day, there is something to make your adventure enjoyable.

front-runner-easy-out-awning-2m-TENT043-9Right now I’m working on configuring my trunk space to fit my camera equipment and keep it hidden.  I am also looking for a Solar Generator and a 12v refrigerator. Will keep you posted on how things work out.

I have a little less than 45 days before I will be heading out. For the first leg of my trip, it’s going to be a rough and rugged trip; because I don’t have the all the things that will make my adventure a little more pleasant. But, it will help me get a good idea of what I need in the future.

You never really have everything you need to get started, but that doesn’t mean you shouldn’t start with what you’ve got. So get out there and start living your dream.

Remember: Subscribe, Like, Share and Comment

*** THE END ***

Images by google search

Leave a comment